top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbigail

Thinking About Reproductive Rights

With the Supreme Court nomination of Amy Coney Barrett and the events this past month with Belen Jesuit students rallying against abortion rights, reproductive rights has been a hot topic in our Miami community. There are contradicting beliefs among families, friend groups, and schools. With a resounding statement in favor of women's reproductive rights, there have also been arguments siding with the Pro-life opinion.

I asked several girls I know about their thoughts on this topic. Each response is unique to their own opinion.

Q: Are you Pro-choice or Pro-life?

"Pro-choice because a woman's body shouldn't be subjected to any religious or political institutions. No one should be telling her what to do and what not to do," Imgard Bonheur said.


"Since I was raised Catholic, I know that I personally would not consider an abortion [as] an option for myself. However, I consider myself to be Pro-choice because I understand that not everyone shares my beliefs," said Frankie Ricardo.


"I consider myself Pro-choice. Many women have different situations. My being Pro-choice isn't telling the world that I would get an abortion, but it means that I would respect someone if they felt the need to," said Cristina Abello.


"Pro-choice. Women don't do this out of weakness, they do it out of strength. Having a child takes a lot of strength and being able to terminate a pregnancy takes even more strength to be able to recognize that you are not in the position to care for a child and offer a good economic and home situation," said Sealey Bacardi.


Q: What do you think of the constant debate between Pro-choice and Pro-life?


"No one talks about the repercussions of birthing an unwanted child: the systems they go through, the trauma, and the life they lead. The exceptions of a few might find a good home but are otherwise under a system that could honestly give less of a shit about them," Imgard Bonheur said.


"I don't think it's okay to justify getting rid of everyone else's choice simply because I would not exercise that choice," said Frankie Ricardo


"I think that despite religion, cultural background, or your own personal opinions, everyone should have the right to do what they want with their body or do what they need to do. Even if some religions do not accept abortion, they can perfectly preach that abortions are not right under their church. This is the exact purpose of being pro-choice, people are just demonstrating that women have a choice," said Cristina Abello.


"If you aren't a woman, you don't have to deal with these adversities. It's not your choice. It's important to understand why there is a choice and [how] women do what's best for them and for the child with their best interests at heart," said Sealey Bacardi.





28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page